Concert Details

Mozart and Shakespeare

  • Gilles Vonsattel

  • Kazuyoshi Akiyama

  • Conductor / Performers

    Kazuyoshi Akiyama conductor

    Gilles Vonsattel piano*

    Click on the conductor or performer's name to read their biography

  • Repertoire


    A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Overture


    Henry V: Touch Her Soft Lips and Part


    Piano Concerto No. 9, Jeunehomme*


    Symphony No. 2 in C Major

    Click to read notes for
    this concert

In a concert dedicated to the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare, VSO Conductor Laureate Kazuyoshi Akiyama presents the overture to Mendelssohn’s famous incidental music for the Bard’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, as well as a snippet of William Walton’s dreamy, beautiful music for Henry V. A pianist of extraordinary versatility and range, Gilles Vonsattel performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 9, called “perhaps the first unequivocal masterpiece of the Classical period.” 

VSO Subscribers receive exclusive benefits, guaranteed priority seating, and big savings. Subscribe today and save up to 30% over single concert pricing.

Sign up for Email Updates, Special Offers,
and News about the VSO.

Top of Page

Click on a highlighted date for concert details

Performance Dates

  • Friday, Apr 22, 2016

    8pm Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC

  • Saturday, Apr 23, 2016

    8pm Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC

  • Monday, Apr 25, 2016

    8pm Bell Performing Arts Centre


Surrey Nights