Concert Details

Faust Plays Bartók

  • Isabelle Faust

  • Kazuyoshi Akiyama

  • Conductor / Performers

    Kazuyoshi Akiyama conductor

    Isabelle Faust violin*

    Click on the conductor or performer's name to read their biography

  • Repertoire


    Don Giovanni: Overture


    Violin Concerto No. 2*


    Symphony No. 7 in D minor

    Click to read notes for
    this concert

Internationally-renowned violinist Isabelle Faust performs Bartók’s scintillating Violin Concerto No. 2, on the extraordinary “Sleeping Beauty” Stradivarius violin, made in 1704. Beloved Conductor Laureate and former VSO Music Director Kazuyoshi Akiyama returns, conducting Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony and the overture to Mozart’s opera, Don Giovanni.

VSO Subscribers receive exclusive benefits, guaranteed priority seating, and big savings. Subscribe today and save up to 30% over single concert pricing.

Sign up for Email Updates, Special Offers,
and News about the VSO.

PRE-CONCERT TALK by Nicolas Krusek, Conductor, at 7:05pm in the Auditorium, FREE TO TICKETHOLDERS.

Top of Page

Click on a highlighted date for concert details

Performance Dates

  • Saturday, Apr 30, 2016

    8pm Orpheum Theatre

  • Sunday, May 1, 2016

    2pm Orpheum Theatre

  • Monday, May 2, 2016

    8pm Orpheum Theatre


Masterworks Gold



Ticket prices include GST and a Facility Fee charged by the venue. There will also be a $2 order fee added to your cart for online purchases when you have completed your transaction, unless you choose “Print at Home” for your ticket delivery method, for which there is no per-order fee. A $3 per order fee will apply for phone orders. Please click “buy now” to shop for your tickets and to see all available prices. Prices are subject to change at any time.