Concert Details

Kronos: Moments In Time

  • Conductor / Performers

    Kronos Quartet :

    David Harrington violin

    John Sherba violin

    Hank Dutt viola

    Sunny Yang cello

    Bramwell Tovey Host

    Jocelyn Morlock Host

    Click on the conductor or performer's name to read their biography

  • Repertoire

    Garth Knox

    Selection from Satellites*

    N. Rajam / arr. Reena Esmail

    Dadra in Raga Bhairavi (Canadian Première)

    Franghiz Ali-Zadeh

    Regs (Dance)*

    Michael Gordon

    Clouded Yellow

    Nicole Lizee

    The Golden Age of the Radiophonic Workshop [Fibre-Optic Flowers] (Canadian Première)

    Pete Townshend / arr. Jacob Garchik

    Baba O’Riley (Canadian Première)

    Komitas / arr. Mary Kouyoumdjian

    Groong (Canadian Première)

    Laurie Anderson / arr. Jacob Garchik


    Mary Kouyoumdjian

    Bombs of Beirut (Canadian Première)

    Click to read notes for
    this concert

The VSO’s NEW MUSIC FESTIVAL welcomes the Kronos Quartet as featured artists. For more than 40 years, the San Francisco-based foursome has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with an eclectic mix of composers and performers, and commissioning over 850 works and arrangements for string quartet. On February 26, the Kronos Quartet will be featured in a solo performance that ranges from Pete Townshend’s Baba O’Riley to Laurie Anderson’s Flow, to Mary Kouyoumdjian’s Bombs of Beirut – “a thoroughly engaging work that straddles the line between sound documentary and concert music.”  Plus there are works from the Quartet’s Fifty for the Future initiative. 

Please Note: The performance of Bombs of Beirut includes actual recordings of the sounds of warfare, including incoming missiles and the detonation of bombs, all at high decibel levels. These are loud sounds that continue for approximately four minutes. Audience members may wish to avoid this piece if there is any history of PTSD, anxiety disorders, or other psychological or medical conditions that would likely be exacerbated by exposure to such sounds.

*Composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire

To order your FESTIVAL PASS, please call VSO Customer Service at 604.876.3434, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm, Saturday, 1pm to 5pm. Each individual concert can be purchased online.

Sign up for Email Updates, Special Offers,
and News about the VSO.

Visit Bramwell Tovey at

Visit Jocelyn Morlock at

Pre-concert talk in the West Coast Energy Hall inside the Orpheum lobby at
               6:30pm hosted by Bramwell Tovey and Jocelyn Morlock,
               VSO Composer-in-Residence.
Post-concert cabaret in the West Coast Energy Hall following the concert.
                Cash bar.

Top of Page

Click on a highlighted date for concert details

Performance Dates

  • Friday, Feb 26, 2016

    7:30pm Orpheum Theatre



Individual Tickets:
(senior, student, and subscriber discounts available)

Festival Passes: $100
(senior, student, and subscriber discounts available)

Ticket prices include GST and a Facility Fee charged by the venue. There will also be a $2 order fee added to your cart for online purchases when you have completed your transaction, unless you choose “Print at Home” for your ticket delivery method, for which there is no per-order fee. A $3 per order fee will apply for phone orders. Please click “buy now” to shop for your tickets and to see all available prices. Prices are subject to change at any time.