Concert Details

Angela Cheng Plays Ravel

  • Angela Cheng

  • Cristian Măcelaru

  • Conductor / Performers

    Cristian Măcelaru conductor

    Angela Cheng piano*

    Click on the conductor or performers' names to read their biography

  • Repertoire


    Rumanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major


    Piano Concerto in G Major*


    Symphony No. 5 in F Major

Celebrated Canadian pianist Angela Cheng makes her welcome return to the VSO, performing Ravel’s G Major Piano Concerto, a work heavily influenced by the driving rhythms of the Paris jazz scene of the 1920s. Dvořák’s Symphony No. 5 was his first real symphonic masterpiece, Classical in form, and infused with the music and melodies of his homeland.

This concert is available exclusively to VSO Subscribers as part of a subscription package until Monday, August 21st at 10am. Call VSO Customer Service at 604.876.3434 to become a VSO Subscriber today and save up to 25% over single concert pricing. Online subscriptions will be available on May 8.

Sign up for Email Updates, Special Offers,
and News about the VSO.

Top of Page

Click on a highlighted date for concert details

Performance Dates

  • Friday, Oct 20, 2017

    8pm Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC

  • Saturday, Oct 21, 2017

    8pm Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC