Concert Details

Standing Wave

  • Standing Wave

  • Conductor / Performers

    Standing Wave :

    Christie Reside flute

    AK Coope clarinet

    Rebecca Whitling violin

    Olivia Blander cello

    Allen Stiles piano

    Vern Griffiths percussion

    Click on the conductor or performers' names to read their biography

  • Repertoire

    Nico Muhly


    Rodney Sharman

    Pavane, Galliard And Variations

    Vincent Ho

    Sandman’s Realm

    Bernard Parmegiani / Arr. James O’Callaghan

    Accidents/Harmoniques (World Première)

    Louis Andriessen

    Workers Union

    Click to read notes for
    this concert


A look back as recently as the 1970s provides some of the inspiration for Standing Wave’s contemporary chamber music performance. Louis Andriessen’s Workers Union was composed in 1975, while Nico Muhly’s Doublespeak references 1970s minimalism, and James O’Callaghan’s Accidents/Harmoniques reworks electronic music of that era. Rodney Sharman looks back even further, to the keyboard music of Renaissance composer William Byrd. Sandman’s Realm, by Vincent Ho, uses as his starting point the huge variety of timbral possibilities that can be created by the tamtam. 

This concert is on sale now. Become a VSO Subscriber and get a 15% discount on all Festival concerts.

Sign up for Email Updates, Special Offers,
and News about the VSO.

POST-CONCERT LOUNGE Join DJ michael red, musicians, and composers for a post-concert lounge in the Westcoast Energy Hall lobby. Cash bar.

Top of Page

Click on a highlighted date for concert details

Performance Dates

  • Thursday, Jan 18, 2018

    7:30pm Orpheum Theatre



Ticket prices include GST and a Facility Fee charged by the venue. There will also be a $2 order fee added to your cart for online purchases when you have completed your transaction. A $3 per order fee will apply for phone orders. Please click “buy now” to shop for your tickets and to see all available prices. Prices are subject to change at any time.