Vancouver Symphony Orchestra


Otto Tausk, Music Director

Andrew Crust, Associate Conductor
Marsha & George Taylor Chair

Bramwell Tovey, Music Director Emeritus

Kazuyoshi Akiyama, Conductor Laureate

First Violins

Nicholas Wright, Concertmaster
Ron and Ardelle Cliff Chair

Timothy Steeves, Associate Concertmaster
William and Irene McEwen Chair

David Lakirovich, Assistant Concertmaster
Robert G. and Suzanne Brodie Chair

Jennie Press, Second Assistant Concertmaster

Jae-Won Bang

Mary Sokol Brown
Mrs. Cheng Koon Lee Chair

Jenny Essers

Xue Feng Wei

Rebecca Whitling

Yi Zhou


Second Violins

Karen Gerbrecht, Acting Principal

Jeanette Bernal-Singh, Acting Associate Principal
Jim and Edith le Nobel Chair

Ashley Plaut, Acting Assistant Principal

Cassandra Bequary

Adrian Shu-On Chui

Daniel Norton (On Leave)

Ann Okagaito

Carina Vincenti



Hung-Wei Huang, Principal

Andrew Brown, Associate Principal

Emilie Grimes, Assistant Principal

Katrina Chitty

Matthew Davies (On Leave)
Estelle and Michael Jacobson Chair

Angela Schneider
Professors Mr. and Mrs. Ngou Kang Chair

Jacob van der Sloot



Henry Shapard, Principal
Nezhat and Hassan Khosrowshahi Chair

Janet Steinberg, Associate Principal

Zoltan Rozsnyai, Assistant Principal

Olivia Blander
Gerhard and Ariane Bruendl Chair

Natasha Boyko
Mary and Gordon Christopher Chair

Charles Inkman

Luke Kim
Dr. Malcolm Hayes and Lester Soo Chair

Cristian Márkos
Tim Wyman and Susan Gabe Chair



Dylan Palmer, Principal

Evan Hulbert, Associate Principal

Noah Reitman, Assistant Principal

Malcolm Armstrong

David Brown

J. Warren Long



Christie Reside, Principal
Ron and Ardelle Cliff Chair

Chris James, Assistant Principal 

Rosanne Wieringa
Michael and Estelle Jacobson Chair



Chris James
Hermann and Erika Stölting Chair



Marin Tinev Principal

Beth Orson, Assistant Principal

Karin Walsh
Paul Moritz Chair


English Horn

Beth Orson
Chair in Memory of John S. Hodge



Jeanette Jonquil, Principal
Robert G. and Suzanne Brodie Chair

Michelle Goddard, Acting Assistant Principal
Taryn Brodie Chair


E-Flat Clarinet

Michelle Goddard


Bass Clarinet 




Julia Lockhart, Principal

Sophie Dansereau, Assistant Principal

Gwen Seaton



Sophie Dansereau


French Horn

Oliver de Clercq, Acting Principal

Andrew Mee, Acting Associate Principal

Vacant, Assistant Principal

Winslow and Betsy Bennett Chair

David Haskins
Werner and Helga Höing Chair




Larry Knopp, Principal

Marcus Goddard, Associate Principal

Vincent Vohradsky
Neil Harcourt in memory of Frank N. Harcourt Chair



Brian Wendel, Principal

Andrew Poirier


Bass Trombone

Ilan Morgenstern (On Leave)
Arthur H. Willms Family Chair



Peder MacLellan, Principal



Aaron McDonald, Principal



Vern Griffiths, Principal
Martha Lou Henley Chair

Michael Jarrett

Tony Phillips



Alyssa Katahara



On Rotation
Jemini Foundation Chair