Jon Kimura Parker Plays Bernstein

Jon Kimura Parker Plays Bernstein





Dances of Galánta


Flute Concerto


Symphony No. 2, "Age of Anxiety"

Approx. 110 Minute Performance

1 Intermission

Grammy-winning conductor Karen Kamensek leads the orchestra in Kodály’s thrilling Dances of Galánta in her VSO debut before joining beloved Canadian pianist Jon Kimura Parker for Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2. Plus! Hear a world premiere by Vancouver favourite Vivian Fung performed by VSO Principal Flute, Christie Reside.

“The enormous ovation for Ms. Kamensek, one of just five female conductors in the Met’s history, was heartening.” – New York Times

Flute Concerto, Commissioned by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra and the Victoria Symphony with generous support from the Hugh Davidson Fund administered by the Victoria Foundation.

Piano virtuoso Jon Kimura Parker injects energy into Bernstein’s “Age of Anxiety”

Join Jon Kimura Parker in the intimate atmosphere of Pyatt Hall for a piano masterclass, as he coaches advanced young performers with his signature warm and engaging style.

Thursday November 10, 5-7pm
Pyatt Hall, VSO School of Music
Tickets $15 for live attendance or livestream access
Learn more and get tickets

Masterworks Gold Series Sponsor

Presentation of Canadian Music Partially Supported by

Karen Kamensek

Karen Kamensek Conductor

Christie Reside

Christie Reside Principal Flute